Iowa Barn Foundation

About the Iowa Barn Foundation

What You Need to Know About the Iowa Barn Foundation

Founded in 1997, the Iowa Barn Foundation is dedicated to preserving Iowa's rural buildings, symbols of Iowa's early agricultural heritage.  The Iowa Barn Foundation is an Iowa non-profit corporation with tax-exempt status under paragraph 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

Beldt Barn

The Iowa Barn Foundation, its board of directors (or scroll down), and county representatives (or scroll down) work to preserve Iowa's agricultural history and endangered barns by educating people in Iowa -- and beyond -- about our rural heritage and the importance of barn preservation.  This is being accomplished through the bi-annual Iowa Barn Foundation Magazine, the Iowa Barn Foundation Web site, the annual All-State Barn Tour, and through picnics, open meetings, and through worldwide publicity in newspapers, magazines, and television.

We provide matching grants to property owners to help restore qualified barns.  The Iowa Barn Foundation gives Awards of DistinctionAward of Distinction icon to those property owners who restore or rehabilitate their barns at their own expense.  In addition, the Iowa Barn Foundation is committed to farm conservancy and now accepts economically and financially self-sustaining farms and farmland.  These farms and farmland are saved in perpetuity for agricultural purposes according to the owner's wishes.

As of August 3, 2015, the Iowa Barn Foundation is now providing incentives for barn owners to take advantage of tax credits that are available from the federal government and the state of Iowa.

Funds to give matching grants and Awards of DistinctionAward of Distinction icon to property owners and to pay for the Iowa Barn Foundation Magazine are raised from individuals, corporations, and foundations.  To date, all of the funding has been generated from private sources.  Because the Iowa Barn Foundation is an all-volunteer organization, no funds are spent on operational costs.  Financial, legal, editorial, and administrative work is carried out by volunteers.

We need your help to preserve Iowa's barns.  Please make a donation or become a member of the Iowa Barn Foundation today!

If you have questions or would like more information about the Iowa Barn Foundation, contact Jacqueline Andre Schmeal, with the subject line "I would like more information about the Iowa Barn Foundation".


Board of Directors of the Iowa Barn Foundation

Andrea Corcoran
  Des Moines, Iowa

Mary Mills Dunea
Osage, Iowa

Jeffrey Fitz-Randolph
Fairfield, Iowa

Don Geiger   (Treasurer)
  West Des Moines, Iowa

Erin Herbold-Swales
  Altoona, Iowa

Thomas A. Hertz
  Nevada, Iowa

Dwight Hughes
  Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Carrie Jones
  Ocheyedon, Iowa

Paul Kruse   (Vice President)
  Granger, Iowa

Tom Lawler   (Secretary)
  Parkersburg, Iowa

Steve Lawler
  Ogden, Iowa

Joe Lyon
  Toledo, Iowa

Kurt Meyer
  St. Ansgar, Iowa

Craig Pfanz
  State Center, Iowa

Carole Reichardt
  Clive, Iowa

Roy Reiman
  Greendale, Wisconsin

Jacqueline Andre Schmeal   (President Emeritus)
  Houston, Texas
  and New Providence, Iowa

Steve Sukup
  Clear Lake, Iowa

Darrell Sunderman
  Carroll, Iowa

Kelly Tobin
  New Market, Iowa

Dan Witt   (President)
  Clinton, Iowa

Back to top


County Representatives for the Iowa Barn Foundation

The Iowa Barn Foundation's county representatives help to promote the preservation of barns, organize the surveying of barns in their counties, encourage membership in the Iowa Barn Foundation, and help with fund raising.  Working with members of the board from each of nine areas of the state, they also help to oversee projects.

Many of Iowa's 99 counties have representatives to the Iowa Barn Foundation.  We welcome volunteers to represent those counties that do not yet have a representative.


Adair: Brian Vandewater, (515) 450-8848

Allamakee: Marlene Fenstermann (563) 382-3439

Appanoose: Marilyn Vanderlinden (641) 856 2152

Audubon: Paul Walther (712) 563-2779

Blackhawk: Keith Oltrogge (319) 984-5292, Kelly Knott (319) 239-7650

Boone: Jim Jordan (515) 432-2736

Bremer: Keith Oltrogge (319) (984)-5292

Buchanan: Jim Michels (319) 551-2155

Buena Vista: Becky Bryant (712) 213-0597

Butler: Meinard Koop (319) 983-2351

Calhoun: Larry Ellis (712) 466 2515

Cedar: Sue Robinson (563) 432-7186

Cerro Gordo: Dale and Judy Mills (641) 424-1197

Cherokee: Becky Bryant (712) 213-0597

Clarke: Dianne Oswald (641) 342-6722

Clayton: Tara Reisinger (563) 535-7531

Clinton: Dan and Jolene Witt (563) 212-1307

Davis: Judy Combs (641) 929-3758; Sharon and Bill Hardy (641)-722-5224

Decatur: Jack Van Laar (641) 446-4723;

Des Moines: Dale and Julie Bartelt (319) 759-0591

Dickinson: Alan Lyons (712) 336-8823

Dubuque: Jack Smith (563) 599-3061

Emmet: Terrence Jensen (515) 292-2049

Fayette: Vernon Oakland (563) 423-7122

Floyd: Michael and Rochelle Barrigan, (641)-228-3826; Jean and John Sebern (641) 228-2654

Franklin: Gary Bennett (641) 579 6154

Greene: Mary and Larry Richards (5l5) 386-4750

Grundy: : Rebecca Engelking (641) 366-3150

Hancock: Thomas Chizek (641) 430-4456

Hamilton: Ron Adams (515) 368-1678

Hardin: Ken Starek (641) 847-30l8

Harrison: Shirley Finken (712) 644 2355

Humboldt: Kurt Weinert (515) 332-4467

Ida: Don Poggensee (7l2) 364-349l

Jackson: Lori Evilsizer (563) 689-6447

Jasper: John and Kathryn Van Zee (5l5) 994-3032

Jefferson: Jeffrey Fitz-Randolph (641) 472-7810

Johnson: Wilford Yoder, (319) 338-6596

Kossuth: Evert Broesder (515) 295-5787

Lee: Brian Foecke (319) 470 0329

Linn: Tom Ipsan (319) 895-8565

Lucas: Gary Webster (515) 96l-7880

Madison: Ron McBroom/Ginnie Hargis (515) 834-2026

Mahaska: The Charles Oldhams (641) 969-4272

Marion: Rob Vos (641) 628-8396

Marshall: Rodney J. Hassler (641) 753-3276

Mitchell: Matthew Shook, Rachel Dossett (641) 832-9138

Montgomery: The Montgomery County Historical Society (712) 623-2289

Muscatine: Anton Vanicek (563) 264-2497

O'Brien: Pamela Battaglioli (712) 727-3612

Osceola: Carrie Jones (712) 832-3227

Page: Dave Williams (712) 826-8832

Pocahontas: Terry Ferguson (712) 845-4978

Polk: Ober Anderson (515) 964-0964; Don Jordahl (515) 274-1317

Pottawattamie: Evan Summy (712) 323 5353

Ringgold: Joan Gunsolley (515) 734-5455

Sac: Jack and Jane Hogue (712) 668-4663

Scott: Susan Frye (563) 285-5570

Shelby: Linda Heflin (712) 744-3660

Sioux: Leroy Intveld (712) 439-2775

Story: Roxanne Mehlisch (641) 487-7690; Norma Johnson (515) 685-2800, Wayne & Steve Rimathe (515) 249-7466

Van Buren: Darlene and David McQuoid (3l9) 397-2340

Wapello: David Cobler (641) 777-7202

Warren: Cheryl Eftlink (641) 297- 2239

Washington: Jerry Strabala (319) 653-3400

Wayne: Richard Stafford (641) 390-0723

Webster: Deann Haden (515) 576-5519

Winneshiek: Marlene Fenstermann (563) 382-3439

Woodbury: Winston and Eileen Belfrage (712)-941-5184

Sherry Gribble is the county representative coordinator.  Contact her if you wish to help or if you have questions.  She is at

Back to top
© 1997-2016 Iowa Barn Foundation. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without express written permission from the Iowa Barn Foundation.  Updated 12-01-16.


The Iowa Barn Foundation: Helping to preserve Iowa's agricultural heritage one barn at a time.


Facebook Icon


Go to the Iowa DOT map, then click on a County.

Iowa State Map


See the God Made A Farmer Super Bowl commercial, based on a Paul Harvey presentation, on YouTube.